Keeping an appointment with yourself!

As I find it very important to keep an appointment I made with myself to post weekly on my blog I’m posting my favorite psalm. I believe that it is very important to keep our appointments no matter with whom. It is a token of respect and of taking each other serious. Before posting my favorite psalm I want to share with you how this psalm became my favorite psalm. I was nine years old. At that time I was staying with my grandparents on mothers’side. I was send to stay with my grandparents together with my sister of six by our mother because of her at that time inadequate housing circumstances. As I told you our parents were divorced when I was six, my mother since then was fighting (with four kids) alone to make ends meet. She had several relationships during this time but they did not workout. Anyway back to me , I was at my grandparents and was then to my full awareness introduced to faith and my relationship with God! I was taught to go to church every Sunday , I was taught to pray every morning and every night before going to sleep I knelled at my bed and said this prayer: “Now I lay me down to sleep I pray the Lord my soul to keep, If I should die before I wake I pray the Lord my soul to take!” My grandmother was active in the quire , she was a soprano. The church was a Baptist church. For who is familiar with the Dutch Antilles, my grandparents lived on Aruba and my mother on Curacao. I remember the day my grandmother gave me a very small bible as a present and she marked Psalm 23. I memorized this psalm and it always have been and still is my life saver, my tower of strength and my consolation! http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=psalm+23&version=NIV .

About lucinda408

An experienced Information and communication professional and mother of 3 girls. I am a Christian who believes in God being the Holy Trinity. God the father, son and the Holy ghost! I got ill in 2009 with a disease called PLS . The process you go through when diagnosed with a medically incurable disease is not to be taken lightly and shared as much as you can for that reason I started writing. A wonderful result is that because I am writing about my feelings and experiences it is an emotional therapy for me!
This entry was posted in Lifelessons and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Keeping an appointment with yourself!

  1. askmrtony says:

    Its’s a blessing to have strong upbringing that keeps you connected to God. Keep up the good work sister, I believe God admires your faith and He has your back. God bless!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

