Friendship and Family-time!.

Last friday night I had a wonderful time with one of my dearest youth friends (we were both 17 when our friendship started and we are now 53 going 54!). She invited my girls and me to the sixteenth birthday celebration of her son. Her son chose to celebrate his birthday with all his nieces and nephews living in the Netherlands and even though I fall in the category good friends I am honored to be seen as “Family”, so my kids also belong to the nieces-realm. Because he wanted the celebration place to be centrally located, so that it would be accessible for everyone he chose my “home-town”. The group was invited to a bowling evening. I used to be a very active bowler and now I am a very active spectator! The group was divided in the boys against the girls or as you wish the girls against the boys. Well the boys won the challenge but we all had a ball! The group consisted of 4 adults (my friend, her brother , his wife and I) , 4 nephews(including the birthday-guy) and 7 nieces (including 2 of my 3 girls). After bowling we went to grab a bite at KFC it was a big KFC one of the large ones in Rotterdam. What was very surprising to us was that this KFC did not have any wheelchair facilities , there was no lift to go upstairs to the ‘normal”eating facilities nor was there downstairs an eating facility for people who cannot sit on bar-chairs. Because our group consisted namely of kids and we knew that they would like the french fries and chicken pieces of KFC we stayed. I must say that upon our request the personnel then brought out of their private eating area a table at which I could be seated. After enjoying our meal together we made outside the building of KFC a memorable group picture! We really had a wonderful friendship-family-time!

grouppic2014

About lucinda408

An experienced Information and communication professional and mother of 3 girls. I am a Christian who believes in God being the Holy Trinity. God the father, son and the Holy ghost! I got ill in 2009 with a disease called PLS . The process you go through when diagnosed with a medically incurable disease is not to be taken lightly and shared as much as you can for that reason I started writing. A wonderful result is that because I am writing about my feelings and experiences it is an emotional therapy for me!
This entry was posted in Lifelessons and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.