What is love?

What is love?  the question to be exact is in this case what is the love between a man and a woman?

On the internet this question has often been asked through songs, stories and poems. With this post it is not my intention to give a spiritual or scientific lecture about love simply because I am not an authority on either areas. I am just a human being with feelings and puzzled with many questions. One of these questions is “what is the love between man and woman”, I do not mean the physical act of love between man and woman.

In the bible there is a whole book dedicated to the love between a man and a woman, the Book of Salomon: Song of Songs 1-8. In  1corinthian 8: 6-7 there is a description of the spiritual love between a man and a woman which is illustrated through FEELINGS! The verses goes like this:

for love is as strong as death,
    its jealousy[a] unyielding as the grave.
It burns like blazing fire,
    like a mighty flame.[b]
Many waters cannot quench love;
    rivers cannot sweep it away.
If one were to give
    all the wealth of one’s house for love,
    it[c] would be utterly scorned.

Looking at each verse and trying to understand its meaning I can give the following analysis:

for love is as strong as death = this love is inevitable 

 its jealousy[a] unyielding as the grave= the jealousy of this love cannot be escaped

It burns like blazing fire,

    like a mighty flame. Many waters cannot quench love; rivers cannot sweep it away = It feels as if your burning inside from an unstoppable fire

If one were to give
    all the wealth of one’s house for love,
    it[c] would be utterly scorned. =  all the wealth you have is not enough to buy this love

 

Out of my analysis can be concluded that the spiritual love between man and woman  is painful, jealous ,unstoppable and cannot be bought

The bible also talks about the love we have in our heart for our fellowmen, meaning the feeling we have in our heart for our fellow men. This love mentioned in the New testament in 1 Corinthians chapter 13 , verses 1-3:

13 If I speak in the tongues[a] of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast,[b] but do not have love, I gain nothing.

This love for our fellow men is described as follows:

4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.Love never fails.

Thus according to the bible there is a difference on one hand in the spiritual love between a man and a woman and on the other hand the love we should have for our fellow men. Maybe I am wrong but this is what I understand.

About lucinda408

An experienced Information and communication professional and mother of 3 girls. I am a Christian who believes in God being the Holy Trinity. God the father, son and the Holy ghost! I got ill in 2009 with a disease called PLS . The process you go through when diagnosed with a medically incurable disease is not to be taken lightly and shared as much as you can for that reason I started writing. A wonderful result is that because I am writing about my feelings and experiences it is an emotional therapy for me!
This entry was posted in Lifelessons and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

