What about PLS?

Today I received an update on the life and health happenings of a special acquaintance whom I consider to be more than an acquaintance as we share Primary Lateral Sclerosis -effects in our lives. It is a moment that makes me realize that PLS has impacted my life.  I believe in 100% healing by faith in Jesus, however I believe that everyone has their own healing-process to go through.A great part of our healing-process has to do with our emotional battles. I thank God that while I am dealing with my emotional battles I can enjoy an environment that gives me the necessary love (of my kids , family and friends) and positive inspiration as well as meeting my physical needs.

Yes PLS has impacted my life, whenever I want to be outside I always use a wheelchair, I am now in the luxurious position to go by an electrical wheelchair or by a manually driven wheelchair. The advantage of using the electrical wheelchair is that you are not dependent on others for your mobility outside however I must confess that I prefer to be together with someone where ever I go, so I am always gladly dependent for my mobility. Another advantage is that you are able to move without the aid of others so when you have long strolls the other is not extra tired of pushing you, you are more independent in your stops (you can stop to see what you want without having to ask the other to stop). Though an electrical wheelchair has its advantages a manually driven wheelchair also has its advantages. We go to church by metro and to be very honest I am afraid of the rails and the tempo of moving in and out of the metro that I prefer going by the manually driven wheelchair. It is a very bumpy ride but I am accustomed to it now. When you are in a wheelchair it is as if you become invisible or maybe people think that you are unable to communicate or maybe its that people just do not know what to say to you so they choose not to see you in order to avoid the awkwardness, 

Yes PLS has impacted my life, I used to like to use pumps, be elegantly dressed, move elegantly from one conversation to another (Mingle if you wish) now I am still elegantly dressed but you cannot see me full length with my pumps anymore so even though I am sitting in a wheelchair I now choose to wear comfortable shoes. As to mingling well I am now glad to get a corner where everyone can easily reach me and say hello as my speech is not so fluent anymore as it was.

Yes PLS has impacted my life, I have to plan in advance to go travelling .I have to walk in my mind or on my laptop through all the rooms to see if I can see myself safely moving there.

Yes PLS has impacted my life, I was always exercising because I liked keeping in shape now I dread exercises that make me realize my limits.

Yes PLS has impacted my life, As my speech has been affected, talking cost more energy and I bite my tongue often when talking, I now like to write more

I am now tired of writing so I will now leave this post for what it is.

About lucinda408

An experienced Information and communication professional and mother of 3 girls. I am a Christian who believes in God being the Holy Trinity. God the father, son and the Holy ghost! I got ill in 2009 with a disease called PLS . The process you go through when diagnosed with a medically incurable disease is not to be taken lightly and shared as much as you can for that reason I started writing. A wonderful result is that because I am writing about my feelings and experiences it is an emotional therapy for me!
This entry was posted in Lifelessons and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

