When I was my job!

I do not know how it happened , but there was a time that my conversations started with my work and ended with my work. As if I was my job and my job was me. For 20 years I was working in the information & communications area  as a project-leader, department manager and process manager.

It was pretty much a man’s world, because there were very few women in these positions. I think it had to do with women finding these positions very boring. Well , in my case it was because my studies had to do with this area.

I finished bachelor in Business & Information and afterwards did various in-house courses.

For my work it was good but as a person I was boxing myself in. I spend a lot of time working and studying during this time I had a nanny for the kids.

I felt that in order to survive in this men’s world I had to be able to keep up with them. I forgot however that they did not have two competing jobs as I did. Apart of being a professional I was MOM. Both areas of responsibility asked for my time!

I never was willfully or intentionally focused on spending more time in my job, it just happened! Now I am not glad that I have PLS but I am glad that I got the time to think and realize that this men’s world was not for me!

Do not get me wrong I am not saying that a woman should not aspire more. I am just saying that in my case it was never intentional.

o-WORKAHOLIC-facebook

 

About lucinda408

An experienced Information and communication professional and mother of 3 girls. I am a Christian who believes in God being the Holy Trinity. God the father, son and the Holy ghost! I got ill in 2009 with a disease called PLS . The process you go through when diagnosed with a medically incurable disease is not to be taken lightly and shared as much as you can for that reason I started writing. A wonderful result is that because I am writing about my feelings and experiences it is an emotional therapy for me!
This entry was posted in Lifelessons and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

