An un-invited guest !

I was a fulltime consultant apart from being a mom in 2009 when this guest came wandering in my life without an invitation. It was definitely not invited and surely not invited to stay. I had to accept that this un-invited guest would stay and even overstay.

After a while I have learned to accept its stay. However from time to time I am happy to meet people who also have this un-invited guest over because then I realize that what I am experiencing because of this un-invited guest is real. I’m talking about  “(P)rimary (L)ateral (S)clerosis” http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Primary_lateral_sclerosis , which is a motor neuron disease with which I was diagnosed since 2009.

Since my diagnosis I am now more in a wheelchair , I can still use my hands and arms although less coordinated, I still have my speech although slower and less understandable. I have to chew my food more before I can swallow and I have to drink slower not to choke.

Last week I saw the movie “the theory of everything” http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2980516/

I could relate to the symptoms and the feelings. Just as in the movie you can see that important ingredients to have around when dealing with this un-invited guest is love and understanding! The process is for everyone different yet the areas (arms,hands, legs, feet, speech) that are affected are the same.

About lucinda408

An experienced Information and communication professional and mother of 3 girls. I am a Christian who believes in God being the Holy Trinity. God the father, son and the Holy ghost! I got ill in 2009 with a disease called PLS . The process you go through when diagnosed with a medically incurable disease is not to be taken lightly and shared as much as you can for that reason I started writing. A wonderful result is that because I am writing about my feelings and experiences it is an emotional therapy for me!
This entry was posted in faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An un-invited guest !

  1. Wow! My grandfather had MS so I know that life must have changed drastically for you. Praying that joy will be found by you in the midst of your trials…

    Like

  2. Lucinda, thank you for sharing. I can imagine this being a very difficult adjustment. Am amazed how God is using you. Your posts are always a blessing to me. THANK YOU!
    ~Carl~

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

